About

Besides their major role in many infectious diseases, bacteria also serve as models to understand fundamental biological mechanisms. The research performed in the Department of Microbiology mainly focuses on the molecular characterization of functions that enable bacteria to interact with their environment and, in some cases, to cause diseases.

The scientists of the Department of Microbiology study various bacteria and Archaea (and their viruses) as model systems to analyze fundamental biological processes at the cellular and molecular levels. They also focus on the mechanisms that render some of these microorganisms virulent and enable them to evade the host immune system, or to develop resistance to antibiotics. For these studies, the scientists of the Department of Microbiology possess a wide range of expertise and use diverse experimental approaches. These studies not only improve our understanding of the life cycle of these microorganisms, but also constitute a prerequisite for the development of new therapies or new diagnostic tools that can be used to treat or prevent bacterial infections.

The Department of Microbiology includes 20 teams: 13 research teams, 1 Institut Pasteur/Paris 7 University laboratory, 2 junior groups (G5) and 4 collections. Three entities also host a National Reference Center and 2 are WHO Collaborating Centers. In addition, several research teams from other departments (Genomes & Genetics, Structural Biology and Chemistry and Infection & Epidemiology) are affiliated to the Department of Microbiology. The Department also hosts a joint research entity with the CNRS (French National Center for Scientific Research) – ERL6002.

 

• López-Igual, R., Bernal-Bayard, J., Rodríguez-Patón, A., Ghigo, J.M., and Didier Mazel.(2019). Engineering synthetic toxin-intein weapons as specific antimicrobials Nature Biotechnology. April 15. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41587-019-0105-3

Demeure CE, Derbise A, Guillas C, Gerke C, Cauchemez S, Carniel E, Pizarro-Cerdá J, (2019). Humoral and cellular immune correlates of protection against bubonic plague by a live Yersinia pseudotuberculosis vaccine, Vaccine  Jan 3;37(1):123-129. doi: 10.1016/j.vaccine.2018.11.022. Epub 2018 Nov 19.

• Cui L, Vigouroux A, Rousset F, Varet H, Khanna V, Bikard D, (2018). A CRISPRi screen in E. coli reveals sequence-specific toxicity of dCas9, Nature Communications. May 15;9(1):1912. doi: 10.1038/s41467-018-04209-5.

• Rendueles O, de Sousa JAM, Bernheim A, Touchon M, Rocha EPC. (2018). Genetic exchanges are more frequent in bacteria encoding capsules. PLoS Genetics 2018 Dec 21;14(12):e1007862. doi: 10.1371/journal.pgen.1007862. eCollection 2018 Dec.

Teams

Associated teams

Partners

Featured Publications

Download

Présentation

 

À l’origine de nombreuses maladies infectieuses, les bactéries peuvent également servir de modèle pour étudier des mécanismes biologiques fondamentaux. Les études menées dans le département de Microbiologie portent sur la caractérisation moléculaire des fonctions qui permettent aux bactéries d’interagir avec leur environnement et, pour certaines, de provoquer des maladies.

Les scientifiques du département
de Microbiologie étudient, au niveau cellulaire et moléculaire, divers micro-organismes (bactéries, archées et leurs virus) en tant que systèmes modèles pour des analyses fondamentales en génomique, génétique, métabolisme, etc.
Ils s’intéressent également aux mécanismes qui permettent à certains d’entre eux d’être pathogènes et d’échapper au système immunitaire de l’hôte, ou de résister aux antibiotiques. Pour ces travaux, les chercheurs du département de Microbiologie possèdent une grande variété d’expertises et d’approches expérimentales. Ces études apportent non seulement une meilleure compréhension du mode de vie de ces micro-organismes, mais ils sont également un préalable indispensable au développement de nouvelles thérapies ou de nouveaux outils diagnostiques potentiellement utilisables pour le traitement des infections bactériennes.

Le Département de Microbiologie est composé de 20 entités, dont 13 entités de recherche, 2 groupes juniors (G5), 1 laboratoire Université Paris Diderot et 4 collections. Trois de ces entités abritent des Centres Nationaux de Référence et 2 unités du Département sont également Centre collaborateur de l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé (OMS). Par ailleurs, plusieurs unités de recherche d’autres départements (Génomes & Génétique, Biologie Structurale & Chimie et Infection & Epidémiologie) sont affiliées au Département de Microbiologie. Le département héberge également une équipe de recherche labélisée avec le CNRS – ERL6002.

•Kazlauskas D, Varsani A, Koonin EV, Krupovic M.(2019).Multiple origins of prokaryotic and eukaryotic single-stranded DNA viruses from bacterial and archaeal plasmids.Nat Commun. 2019 Jul 31;10(1):3425

• López-Igual, R., Bernal-Bayard, J., Rodríguez-Patón, A., Ghigo, J.M., and Didier Mazel.(2019). Engineering synthetic toxin-intein weapons as specific antimicrobials Nature Biotechnology. April 15. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41587-019-0105-3

• Gomez-Valero L, Rusniok C, Carson D, Mondino S, Pérez-Cobas AE, Rolando M, Pasricha S, Reuter S, Demirtas J, Crumbach J, Descorps-Declere S, Hartland EL, Jarraud S, Dougan G, Schroeder GN, Frankel G, Buchrieser C. (2019). More than 18,000 effectors in the Legionella genus genome provide multiple, independent combinations for replication in human cells. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 2019 Jan;

Équipes

Équipes associées

Partenaires

Sélection de Publications

Télécharger