© Research

Dynamics of Host-Pathogen Interactions


Correlative FIB-SEM of intracellular bacteria

Our unit “Dynamics of host pathogen-interactions” develops novel approaches to investigate the interactions between pathogens and their hosts in single cells in real time.

In particular, we are interested in deciphering the molecular and cellular basis of how a number of bacterial pathogens, such as Shigella or Salmonella enter host cells during the infection process. To achieve this, we film these invasion events using innovative fluorescence microscopy. More specifically, we focus on the establishment of novel assays that allow us to monitor pathogen invasion; simultaneously tracking a large number of parameters involved in the invasion processes. In doing this we are able to correlate the pathogen behavior, its intracellular localization and the host responses it induces in single cells in real time.
We are convinced that deciphering the molecular and cellular details of the invasion strategies used by the bacterial pathogens will identify novel drug targets and will provide new insight into fundamental cell biological processes.

We have obtained generous funding for our research by the following agencies and institutions during recent years and for the coming years: the Institut Pasteur, the Agence Nationale pour la Recherche (ANR), the European Union (ERC program and Marie Curie program), the Fondation Schlumberger pour l’Education et la Recherche, the Fundação para a Ciência e Tecnologia (FCT), the French Foreign Ministry and the Fondation pour la Recherche Medicale (FRM). We would like to thank them for their support.


Scanning EM of entring bacteria
Scanning EM of entring bacteria
Confocal analysis of Shigella invasion
Confocal analysis of Shigella invasion



Program Projects



  • Agence_Nationale_de_la_Recherche
  • logo_frm_blanc_gros
  • logo_FSER



Phone: +33144389413 Jost Enninga
Email: jost.enninga@pasteur.fr


Phone: +33145688446
Email: laurence.langlais@pasteur.fr

25-28 Rue du Docteur Roux
75015, Paris

© Recherche
Laboratoire

Dynamique des interactions hôte-pathogène

Responsable

Jost Enninga

Présentation

Correlative FIB-SEM of intracellular bacteria
Correlative FIB-SEM of intracellular bacteria

Notre unité «Dynamique des hôtes pathogènes-interactions” développe de nouvelles approches pour étudier les interactions entre les agents pathogènes et leurs hôtes dans des cellules individuelles en temps réel.

Nous nous intéressons, en particulier à déchiffrer les bases moléculaires et cellulaires d’un certain nombre d’agents pathogènes bactériens, tels que Shigella ou Salmonella et examinons leurs façons d’investir les cellules hôtes pendant le processus d’infection. Pour ce faire, nous filmons ces événements d’invasion en utilisant une microscopie innovante à fluorescence. Nous nous concentrons plus précisément sur la création de nouveaux tests nous permettant de surveiller l’invasion de pathogènes en suivant simultanément un grand nombre de paramètres impliqués dans les processus d’invasion. En faisant cela, nous sommes en mesure de corréler le comportement de l’agent pathogène, sa localisation intracellulaire et les réponses de l’hôte qu’il induit dans des cellules individuelles en temps réel.

Nous sommes convaincus que déchiffrer les détails moléculaires et cellulaires des stratégies d’invasion utilisées par les agents pathogènes bactériens permettront d’identifier de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques et fourniront de nouvelles informations sur les processus biologiques cellulaires fondamentaux.

Pour notre recherche, nous avons obtenu de généreux financements par les organismes et institutions suivant: l’Institut Pasteur, l’Agence Nationale pour la Recherche (ANR), l’Union européenne (programme ERC et le programme Marie Curie), le Fondation Schlumberger Pour l’Education et la Recherche, le para Fundação un e Ciência Tecnologia (FCT), le ministère des Affaires étrangères français et la Fondation pour la Recherche Médicale (FRM). Nous tenons à les remercier pour leur soutien.

Scanning EM of entring bacteria
Scanning EM of entring bacteria
Confocal analysis of Shigella invasion
Confocal analysis of Shigella invasion

Membres

Grands Projets

Projets

Financements

  • Agence_Nationale_de_la_Recherche
  • logo_frm_blanc_gros
  • logo_FSER
  • logo_erc copie

Publications

Contact

Phone: +33144389413 Jost Enninga
Email: jost.enninga@pasteur.fr

or

Phone: +33145688446
Email: laurence.langlais@pasteur.fr

Address
25-28 Rue du Docteur Roux
75015, Paris
France