© Research

Membrane Traffic and Cell Division



The aim of our research group is to decipher the rich and promising interface between membrane trafficking, lipid domain remodelling, cytoskeleton polarization and cell division in eukaryotic cells.

Cell division and thus cell proliferation ultimately relies on cytokinesis, which leads to the physical separation of the two daughter cells at the end of mitosis. Defects in properly orienting the mitotic spindle and the cytokinesis plane, as well as failure in completing cytokinesis have been shown to promote tumorigenesis in vivo. In the past, we and others demonstrated through RNAi-based screens that membrane traffic is essential for the late steps of cytokinesis. This was at the time a surprise, since these two fields were considered as independent areas of cell biology.

Using live-cell imaging and advanced fluorescent microscopy, microfabrication techniques, genome-editing, high-content RNAi-based screens, analysis in human cells from patients and in mice in vivo, our lab is interested in the role of membrane trafficking in lipid and cytoskeleton remodeling at each step of animal cell division.

 Our current work thus addresses how membrane traffic polarizes cell lipids and associated cytoskeletons to control cytokinesis and successful cell division in normal and pathological situations. We predict that our results are likely to be relevant beyond the fields of cell division and cancer, such as in cell migration or phagocytosis of pathogens.




  • institut-pasteur-c
  • Agence_Nationale_de_la_Recherche
  • Cnrs-Q
  • ARC
  • logo_frm_blanc_gros
  • inca-logo



Membrane Traffic and Cell Division Lab
Institut Pasteur

25-28 rue du Docteur Roux
75015 PARIS

phone: 01 44 38 9409 (A. Echard)
phone: 01 45 68 8327 (secretary)
fax: 01 45 68 8954

© Recherche
Laboratoire

Trafic membranaire et division cellulaire

Responsable

Arnaud Echard

Recherche

Web1 Web2 Web3 Web4

Le but de nos recherches est de caractériser l’interface entre le trafic membranaire, le remodelage des domaines lipidiques, la polarisation du cytosquelette et la division cellulaire dans les cellules eucaryotes.

Nous nous intéressons aux rôles du cytosquelette et du trafic membranaire dans la division des cellules humaines. Nous étudions comment de nouvelles voies de transport intracellulaire introduisent une asymétrie de certains domaines membranaires au moment de la division. Ces asymétries permettent en particulier la séparation physique des cellules filles (cytocinèse), une étape dont on sait qu’elle est essentielle à la prévention de l’état tétraploïde/aneuploïde et de la tumorigenèse in vivo. En utilisant des cribles génomiques RNAi, nous avons pu mettre en évidence que le trafic membrane jouait un rôle essentiel dans les étapes tardives de la cytocinèse. Jusqu’alors, les champs du trafic intracellulaire et de la division cellulaire étaient vus comme indépendants.

Nos recherches reposent notamment sur des techniques à haute résolution spatio-temporelle d’imagerie de molécules fluorescentes in vivo, sur des cribles RNAi genome-wide, sur des techniques de pointe de micro-fabrication et de « genome editing », et sur des analyses in vivo dans la souris ou des cellules de patients. 

citron2.smallBIS

Projets

Financements

  • institut-pasteur-c
  • Agence_Nationale_de_la_Recherche
  • Cnrs-Q
  • ARC
  • logo_frm_blanc_gros
  • inca-logo

Publications

Contact

Membrane Traffic and Cell Division Lab
Institut Pasteur

25-28 rue du Docteur Roux
75015 PARIS
FRANCE

phone: 01 44 38 9409 (A. Echard)
phone: 01 45 68 8327 (secretary)
fax: 01 45 68 8954