Search anything and hit enter
  • Teams
  • Members
  • Projects
  • Events
  • Calls
  • Jobs
  • publications
  • Software
  • Tools
  • Network
  • Equipment

A little guide for advanced search:

  • Tip 1. You can use quotes "" to search for an exact expression.
    Example: "cell division"
  • Tip 2. You can use + symbol to restrict results containing all words.
    Example: +cell +stem
  • Tip 3. You can use + and - symbols to force inclusion or exclusion of specific words.
    Example: +cell -stem
e.g. searching for members in projects tagged cancer
Search for
Count
IN
OUT
Content 1
  • member
  • team
  • department
  • center
  • program_project
  • nrc
  • whocc
  • project
  • software
  • tool
  • patent
  • Administrative Staff
  • Assistant Professor
  • Associate Professor
  • Clinical Research Assistant
  • Full Professor
  • Graduate Student
  • Lab assistant
  • Non-permanent Researcher
  • Permanent Researcher
  • Pharmacist
  • PhD Student
  • Physician
  • Post-doc
  • Project Manager
  • Research Associate
  • Research Engineer
  • Retired scientist
  • Technician
  • Undergraduate Student
  • Veterinary
  • Visiting Scientist
  • Deputy Director of Center
  • Deputy Director of Department
  • Deputy Director of National Reference Center
  • Deputy Head of Facility
  • Director of Center
  • Director of Department
  • Director of Institute
  • Director of National Reference Center
  • Group Leader
  • Head of Facility
  • Head of Operations
  • Head of Structure
  • Honorary President of the Departement
  • Labex Coordinator
Content 2
  • member
  • team
  • department
  • center
  • program_project
  • nrc
  • whocc
  • project
  • software
  • tool
  • patent
  • Administrative Staff
  • Assistant Professor
  • Associate Professor
  • Clinical Research Assistant
  • Full Professor
  • Graduate Student
  • Lab assistant
  • Non-permanent Researcher
  • Permanent Researcher
  • Pharmacist
  • PhD Student
  • Physician
  • Post-doc
  • Project Manager
  • Research Associate
  • Research Engineer
  • Retired scientist
  • Technician
  • Undergraduate Student
  • Veterinary
  • Visiting Scientist
  • Deputy Director of Center
  • Deputy Director of Department
  • Deputy Director of National Reference Center
  • Deputy Head of Facility
  • Director of Center
  • Director of Department
  • Director of Institute
  • Director of National Reference Center
  • Group Leader
  • Head of Facility
  • Head of Operations
  • Head of Structure
  • Honorary President of the Departement
  • Labex Coordinator
Search
Go back
Scroll to top
Share
© Institut Pasteur
Corne d'Ammon (ou hippocampe) de renard atteint de rage sauvage. Coloration avec un conjugué fluorescent sur la nucléocapside du virus.

About

Laurent Dacheux obtained his doctorate in Pharmaceutical Sciences (PharmD) in 2000 at the University of Sciences and Techniques of Tours, France, after defending his thesis on anticancer immunotherapy and pharmacogenetics. More precisely, he had the opportunity to participate to one of the princeps studies demonstrating the importance of pharmacogenetics in the prediction of treatments based on monoclonal antibodies, in the team of Pr. Hervé Watier at the Faculty of Medicine of Tours and the University Hospital Center of Tours. This study focused on the influence of the FCGR3A-158 polymorphism on the response to treatment with rituximab (MabThera®) in patients with follicular-type non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma.

He was graduated in 2005 from a Doctorate in Science (PhD) of the University of Sciences and Techniques of Tours, France,  still in the field of monoclonal antibodies but applied to infectious diseases, and more specifically to virology. He carried out a study on the analysis of the kinetics of exposure of major neutralization epitopes on the surface of the envelope glycoproteins of HIV-1 during natural infection, using three major monoclonal antibodies (IgG1b12, 2G12 and 2F5). One of the main results of this study, carried out in Pr. Francis Barin’s team at the Faculty of Medicine of Tours, was the confirmation of the existence of an evolving glycan shield on the envelope of HIV during infection, which modules the exposure of neutralization epitopes.

Since 2004, Laurent Dacheux is acting as one of the deputy directors of the National Reference Center for Rabies (NRC-R) at Institut Pasteur, Paris. Among the several missions dedicated to this center and provided by the French Ministry of Health (through the national public health agency Santé publique France), one of his main activities is to supervise the activities of diagnosis of rabies in humans (nearly 10-15 suspicions/year) and for animals suspected of rabies transmission to humans (around 1,300 samples/year), both in a high-level quality assurance environment (accreditations ISO 15189 and ISO/IEC 17025, respectively). In addition, he is in charge of the supervision of the serological survey of vaccinated patients (around 100 samples/year). He  participates in advisory and expert activities with health professionals (veterinarians, physicians) or public health and veterinary government institutions. In the NRC-R, he is more specifically invested in the development, the validation and the diffusion of the diagnostic techniques related to rabies. One of his topics in this field is focused on the improvement of the diagnosis of human and animal rabies in the endemic areas through the development of innovative, rapid and applicable tests in field conditions, through for example the Field Tests for Rabies Diagnostic (FiTeRaD) project.

In parallel, Laurent Dacheux is also involved in the WHO Collaborative Centre for Research and Reference on Rabies (WHO-CC Rabies), in which he is in charge of various activities focused on the diagnosis, especially those regarding training activities through lectures and organization of workshops in Asia and Africa. In the framework of the WHOCC-Rabies and based on his expertise, he participates to the updating of international reference books and manuals (WHO, OIE, etc.) on rabies diagnosis.

Lastly, he is also a permanent research engineer in the Lyssavirus, Epidemiology and Neuropathology unit (which housed both the NRC-R and the WHO-CC Rabies). In this unit, he is leading integrated researches focused on the two main animal reservoirs of rabies, with carnivores (mainly dogs) and bats, in an One Health approach, which are summarized below.

Integrated study of the lyssavirus / rhabdovirus and bat model: exploration of viral diversity, understanding of viral diffusion mechanisms at the colony level and viral infection mechanisms at the cellular level

It is now established that bats represent the original and the main reservoir of lyssaviruses, in which almost all (16 of 18) of the recognized viral species have been found. Broadly speaking, these animals also harbour many other viral zoonotic agents, including various rhabdoviruses, making them a major source of viral emergence. However, the diversity of these viral populations, and more particularly of lyssaviruses and of other rhabdoviruses (even at the level of the complete virome) remains largely incomplete. Similarly, the dynamics of circulation of these viruses within bat colonies is still unknown, as well as the mechanisms of viral infection at the cellular level or the risk of transmission to humans. However, this data is essential to assess the risk of emergence in humans and to try to put in place potential prevention measures.

The objectives of this integrated research axis are therefore to: 1 / research and characterize  (new) lyssaviruses or rhabdoviruses present in targeted bat colonies in different geographic regions and 2 / study the mechanisms supporting their circulation within these colonies. In addition, 3 / a metagenomic approach associated with a dedicated bioinformatics workflow are implemented on a selected panel of bats, in order to widen the study to the scale of the complete virome. Finally, 4 / an analysis of the mechanisms of infection at the cellular level is in progress, using some prototype lyssaviruses.

Precise and large-scale deciphering of the dynamics of canine rabies spread in West and Central Africa: a key step in the eradication of human rabies

Dog constitutes one of the major reservoirs of the rabies virus (RABV), and the main vector of rabies in humans (nearly 60,000 deaths per year worldwide), in particular in the endemic areas in Asia and Africa. Effective measures to control and eradicate this zoonosis are well known, and are mainly based on the post-exposure prophylaxis for exposed patients, the control of canine populations, the mass vaccination of dogs against rabies and the awareness of the population and the mobilisation of the stakeholders. However, in order to set up these measures effectively in the endemic areas, one of the first elements relies on precise understanding of the dynamics of the infection in its reservoir, which varies among the geographic, epidemiological or environmental context. To date, studies incorporating all of these parameters on a large scale are still limited, particularly in the African context. Similarly, no study has yet exhaustively described the circulation of the virus at different scales of observation (urban, peri-urban, national and international / inter-regional) in the same country, in particular in the context of canine vaccination campaigns.

In order to try to answer these questions, this second research axis focused on several collaborative research programs in central and West Africa. This first one is based on a recent study leaded by the Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute on a rabies surveillance program and mass vaccination campaigns of dogs in N’Djaména, Chad. During this study, two dog vaccination campaigns were able to stop the transmission of rabies in both dog and humans for several months. However, the resurgence of rabies appeared more quickly than expected by the mathematical models used at the end of these campaigns. Preliminary phylogenetic analysis conducted on the RABV virus strains suggested the existence of a reintroduction via exposed animals from adjacent rural areas. Further investigations on this potential phenomenon of reintroduction and circulation between rural and urban areas are ongoing, at the peri-urban scale but also at the national and inter-regional level, in order to obtain a model of dissemination and control that can be transposed to other African countries. In the meantime, this approach is extended in West Africa, particularly in Mali, Côte d’Ivoire and Liberia, and in Central Africa with the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Ultimately, all of these results will represent essential elements for the implementation of the next rabies control plans in Chad, but also in the other neighbouring countries, including the Central African Republic with the second research project ERVB (rabies elimination in the city of Bangui), conducted in collaboration with Institut Pasteur de Bangui in Central African Republic, which aims is to eliminate rabies in Bangui using a “One Health” approach.

The global and final aim of these activities is to provide some clues and recommendations to implement and to fit the best surveillance and control program for rabies, in order to reach the eradication of human rabies due to dog by 2030 as proposed by WHO-OIE-FAO.

Projects

Publications

Download

Tapez votre recherche ici
  • Équipes
  • Membres
  • Projets
  • Événements
  • Appels
  • Emplois
  • publications
  • Logiciel
  • Outils
  • Réseau
  • Équipement

Un petit guide pour l'utilisation de la recherche avancée :

  • Tip 1. Utilisez "" afin de chercher une expression exacte.
    Exemple : "division cellulaire"
  • Tip 2. Utilisez + afin de rendre obligatoire la présence d'un mot.
    Exemple : +cellule +stem
  • Tip 3. Utilisez + et - afin de forcer une inclusion ou exclusion d'un mot.
    Exemple : +cellule -stem
e.g. searching for members in projects tagged cancer
Rechercher
Compteur
IN
OUT
Contenu 1
  • member
  • team
  • department
  • center
  • program_project
  • nrc
  • whocc
  • project
  • software
  • tool
  • patent
  • Personnel Administratif
  • Chargé(e) de Recherche Expert
  • Directeur(trice) de Recherche
  • Assistant(e) de Recherche Clinique
  • Professeur(e)
  • Etudiant(e) M2
  • Aide technique
  • Chercheur(euse) Contractuel(le)
  • Chercheur(euse) Permanent(e)
  • Pharmacien(ne)
  • Etudiant(e) en thèse
  • Médecin
  • Post-doctorant(e)
  • Chef(fe) de Projet
  • Chargé(e) de Recherche
  • Ingénieur(e) de Recherche
  • Chercheur(euse) Retraité(e)
  • Technicien(ne)
  • Etudiant(e)
  • Vétérinaire
  • Visiteur(euse) Scientifique
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Centre
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Départment
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Centre National de Référence
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Plateforme
  • Directeur(trice) de Centre
  • Directeur(trice) de Départment
  • Directeur(trice) d'Institut
  • Directeur(trice) de Centre National de Référence
  • Chef(fe) de Groupe
  • Responsable de Plateforme
  • Responsable opérationnel et administratif
  • Responsable de Structure
  • Président(e) d'honneur de Département
  • Coordinateur(trice) du Labex
Contenu 2
  • member
  • team
  • department
  • center
  • program_project
  • nrc
  • whocc
  • project
  • software
  • tool
  • patent
  • Personnel Administratif
  • Chargé(e) de Recherche Expert
  • Directeur(trice) de Recherche
  • Assistant(e) de Recherche Clinique
  • Professeur(e)
  • Etudiant(e) M2
  • Aide technique
  • Chercheur(euse) Contractuel(le)
  • Chercheur(euse) Permanent(e)
  • Pharmacien(ne)
  • Etudiant(e) en thèse
  • Médecin
  • Post-doctorant(e)
  • Chef(fe) de Projet
  • Chargé(e) de Recherche
  • Ingénieur(e) de Recherche
  • Chercheur(euse) Retraité(e)
  • Technicien(ne)
  • Etudiant(e)
  • Vétérinaire
  • Visiteur(euse) Scientifique
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Centre
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Départment
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Centre National de Référence
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Plateforme
  • Directeur(trice) de Centre
  • Directeur(trice) de Départment
  • Directeur(trice) d'Institut
  • Directeur(trice) de Centre National de Référence
  • Chef(fe) de Groupe
  • Responsable de Plateforme
  • Responsable opérationnel et administratif
  • Responsable de Structure
  • Président(e) d'honneur de Département
  • Coordinateur(trice) du Labex
Recherche
Revenir
Haut de page
Partagez
© Institut Pasteur
Corne d'Ammon (ou hippocampe) de renard atteint de rage sauvage. Coloration avec un conjugué fluorescent sur la nucléocapside du virus.

Présentation

Laurent Dacheux a obtenu son doctorat en Sciences Pharmaceutiques (PharmD) en 2000 à l’Université des Sciences et Techniques de Tours, France, après avoir soutenu sa thèse sur l’immunothérapie anticancéreuse et la pharmacogénétique. Plus précisément, il a eu l’occasion de participer à l’une des études princeps démontrant l’importance de la pharmacogénétique dans la prédiction des traitements à base d’anticorps monoclonaux, dans l’équipe du Pr. Hervé Watier à la Faculté de Médecine de Tours et au Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Tours. Cette étude s’est concentrée sur l’influence du polymorphisme FCGR3A-158 et la réponse au traitement par le rituximab (MabThera®) chez les patients atteints de lymphome non hodgkinien de type folliculaire.

Il a poursuivi sa formation universitaire avec un Doctorat en Sciences (PhD) en 2005 à l’Université des Sciences et Techniques de Tours, France, toujours dans le domaine des anticorps monoclonaux mais appliqué aux maladies infectieuses, et plus particulièrement à la virologie. Il a ainsi réalisé une étude sur l’analyse de la cinétique d’exposition des principaux épitopes de neutralisation à la surface des glycoprotéines d’enveloppe du VIH-1 lors d’une infection naturelle, en utilisant trois anticorps monoclonaux majeurs (IgG1b12, 2G12 et 2F5). L’un des principaux résultats de cette étude, réalisée dans l’équipe du Pr. Francis Barin à la Faculté de Médecine de Tours , a été la confirmation de l’existence d’un bouclier glucidique dynamique sur l’enveloppe du VIH-1 pendant l’infection, qui module l’exposition de certains de ces épitopes de neutralisation.

Depuis 2004, Laurent Dacheux est l’un des directeurs adjoints du Centre national de référence de la rage (CNRR) à l’Institut Pasteur, Paris. Parmi les nombreuses missions dédiées à ce centre et confiées par le Ministère de la Santé (via l’Agence Nationale de la Santé Publique Santé publique France), l’une de ses principales activités est de superviser les activités de diagnostic de la rage chez l’homme (près de 10 à 15 suspicions / an) et pour les animaux suspectés de transmission de la rage à l’homme (environ 1300 échantillons / an), dans un environnement d’assurance qualité de haut niveau (accréditations ISO 15189 et ISO / IEC 17025). De plus, il est en charge de la supervision des essais sérologiques réalisés chez les patients vaccinés (environ 100 échantillons / an). Il participe enfin à des activités de conseil et d’expertise avec des professionnels de la santé (vétérinaires, médecins) ou des institutions gouvernementales de santé publique et vétérinaires. Au CNRR, il s’investit plus spécifiquement dans le développement, la validation et la diffusion des techniques de diagnostic liées à la rage. L’un de ses sujets dans ce domaine est axé sur l’amélioration du diagnostic de la rage humaine et animale dans les zones d’endémie, au travers du développement de tests innovants, rapides et applicables dans des conditions de terrain, à travers par exemple le projet FiTeRaD (Field Tests for Rabies Diagnosis).

Parallèlement, Laurent Dacheux est également impliqué dans le Centre collaboratif OMS de recherche et de référence sur la rage (CCOMS-Rage), dans lequel il est en charge de diverses activités centrées sur le diagnostic, notamment celles concernant les activités de formation, au travers des conférences et de l’organisation d’ateliers en Asie et en Afrique. Dans le cadre du CCOMS-Rage et sur la base de son expertise, il participe à la mise à jour des ouvrages et manuels de référence internationaux (OMS, OIE, etc.) sur le diagnostic de la rage.

Enfin, il est également Ingénieur de recherche permanent au sein de l’unité Lyssavirus, épidémiologie et neuropathologie (qui abritait à la fois le CNRR et le CCOMS-Rage). Dans cette unité, il dirige des recherches intégrées axées sur les deux principaux réservoirs animaux de la rage, avec les carnivores (principalement le chien) et les chauves-souris, dans une approche One Health, qui sont résumées ci-dessous.

Étude intégrée du modèle lyssavirus / rhabdovirus et chauve-souris: exploration de la diversité virale, compréhension des mécanismes de diffusion virale au niveau de la colonie et des mécanismes d’infection virale au niveau cellulaire

Il est maintenant établi que les chauves-souris représentent le réservoir principal et originel des lyssavirus, genre viral auquel appartient le virus de la rage (RABV). En effet, quasiment toutes les espèces virales identifiées à ce jour (16 sur 18) ont été retrouvées chez ces chiroptères. D’une manière générale, ces animaux hébergent également de nombreux autres agents zoonotiques viraux, y compris divers rhabdovirus, ce qui en fait une source majeure d’émergence virale. Cependant, la diversité de ces populations virales, et plus particulièrement des lyssavirus et d’autres rhabdovirus) reste largement incomplète (même à l’échelle globale du virome). De même, la dynamique de circulation de ces virus au sein des colonies de chauves-souris est encore méconnue, ainsi que les mécanismes d’infection virale au niveau cellulaire ou les risques potentielles de transmission à l’homme. Cependant, ces données sont essentielles pour évaluer le risque d’émergence chez l’homme et tenter de mettre en place des mesures de prévention.

Les objectifs de cet axe de recherche intégré sont donc de: 1 / rechercher et caractériser les (nouveaux) lyssavirus ou rhabdovirus présents dans des colonies de chauves-souris ciblées, localisées dans différentes régions géographiques et 2 / étudier les mécanismes favorisant leur circulation au sein de ces colonies. De plus, 3 / une approche métagénomique associée à un workflow bioinformatique dédié sont mis en œuvre sur un panel de chauves-souris sélectionné, afin d’élargir l’étude à l’échelle du virome complet. Enfin, 4 / une analyse des mécanismes d’infection au niveau cellulaire est en cours, à partir de prototypes de lyssavirus.

Décryptage précis et à large échelle de la dynamique de la rage canine propagée en Afrique centrale et de l’Ouest: une étape clé dans l’éradication de la rage humaine

Le chien constitue l’un des principaux réservoirs du virus de la rage (RABV) et le principal vecteur de la rage chez l’homme (près de 60000 décès par an dans le monde), notamment dans les zones d’endémie d’Asie et d’Afrique. Les mesures efficaces pour contrôler et éradiquer cette zoonose sont bien connues et reposent principalement sur la prophylaxie post-exposition pour les patients exposés, le contrôle des populations canines, la vaccination de masse des chiens contre la rage et la sensibilisation de la population et la mobilisation des institutions gouvernementales. Cependant, afin de mettre en place réellement et efficacement ces mesures dans les zones d’endémie, l’un des premiers éléments repose sur une compréhension précise de la dynamique de l’infection dans son réservoir naturelle (le chien en l’occurrence), qui varie selon le contexte géographique, épidémiologique ou environnemental. A ce jour, les études intégrant l’ensemble de ces paramètres à grande échelle restent encore limitées, notamment dans le contexte africain. De même, aucune étude n’a encore décrit de manière exhaustive la circulation du virus à différentes échelles d’observation (urbaine, périurbaine, nationale et internationale / interrégionale) dans le même pays, notamment dans le cadre des campagnes de vaccination canine.

Afin d’essayer de répondre à ces questions, ce deuxième axe de recherche s’est concentré sur plusieurs programmes de recherche collaborative en Afrique centrale et occidentale. La première s’appuie sur une étude récente menée par l’Institut tropical et de santé publique suisse sur un programme de surveillance de la rage et des campagnes de vaccination de masse des chiens à N’Djaména, Tchad. Au cours de cette étude, deux campagnes de vaccination des chiens ont pu arrêter la transmission de la rage chez le chien et l’homme pendant plusieurs mois. Cependant, la résurgence de la rage à l’issue de ces campagnes est apparue plus rapidement que prévu par les modèles mathématiques utilisés. Une analyse phylogénétique préliminaire menée sur les souches du virus RABV a suggéré l’existence d’une réintroduction via des animaux exposés provenant de zones rurales adjacentes. De nouvelles investigations sur ce phénomène potentiel de réintroduction et de circulation entre zones rurales et urbaines sont en cours, à l’échelle péri-urbaine mais aussi au niveau national et inter-régional, afin d’obtenir un modèle de diffusion et de contrôle transposable à d’autres pays africains. Dans l’intervalle, cette approche est étendue en Afrique de l’Ouest, notamment au Mali, en Côte d’Ivoire et au Libéria, et en Afrique centrale avec la République démocratique du Congo.

A terme, l’ensemble de ces résultats représentera des éléments essentiels pour la mise en œuvre des prochains plans de lutte contre la rage au Tchad, mais aussi dans les autres pays voisins, dont la République Centrafricaine avec le deuxième projet de recherche ERVB (élimination de la rage dans la ville de Bangui) , menée en collaboration avec l’Institut Pasteur de Bangui en République centrafricaine, qui vise à éliminer la rage à Bangui en utilisant une approche “One Health”.

L’objectif global et final de ces activités est de fournir des recommandations pour mettre en œuvre et adapter le meilleur programme de surveillance et de contrôle de la rage, afin d’atteindre l’éradication de la rage humaine due au chien d’ici 2030 comme proposé conjointement par l’OMS, l’OIE et la FAO.

Projets

Publications

Télécharger