Search anything and hit enter
  • Teams
  • Members
  • Projects
  • Events
  • Calls
  • Jobs
  • publications
  • Software
  • Tools
  • Network
  • Equipment

A little guide for advanced search:

  • Tip 1. You can use quotes "" to search for an exact expression.
    Example: "cell division"
  • Tip 2. You can use + symbol to restrict results containing all words.
    Example: +cell +stem
  • Tip 3. You can use + and - symbols to force inclusion or exclusion of specific words.
    Example: +cell -stem
e.g. searching for members in projects tagged cancer
Search for
Count
IN
OUT
Content 1
  • member
  • team
  • department
  • center
  • program_project
  • nrc
  • whocc
  • project
  • software
  • tool
  • patent
  • Administrative Staff
  • Assistant Professor
  • Associate Professor
  • Clinical Research Assistant
  • Full Professor
  • Graduate Student
  • Lab assistant
  • Non-permanent Researcher
  • Permanent Researcher
  • Pharmacist
  • PhD Student
  • Physician
  • Post-doc
  • Project Manager
  • Research Associate
  • Research Engineer
  • Retired scientist
  • Technician
  • Undergraduate Student
  • Veterinary
  • Visiting Scientist
  • Deputy Director of Center
  • Deputy Director of Department
  • Deputy Director of National Reference Center
  • Deputy Head of Facility
  • Director of Center
  • Director of Department
  • Director of Institute
  • Director of National Reference Center
  • Group Leader
  • Head of Facility
  • Head of Operations
  • Head of Structure
  • Honorary President of the Departement
  • Labex Coordinator
Content 2
  • member
  • team
  • department
  • center
  • program_project
  • nrc
  • whocc
  • project
  • software
  • tool
  • patent
  • Administrative Staff
  • Assistant Professor
  • Associate Professor
  • Clinical Research Assistant
  • Full Professor
  • Graduate Student
  • Lab assistant
  • Non-permanent Researcher
  • Permanent Researcher
  • Pharmacist
  • PhD Student
  • Physician
  • Post-doc
  • Project Manager
  • Research Associate
  • Research Engineer
  • Retired scientist
  • Technician
  • Undergraduate Student
  • Veterinary
  • Visiting Scientist
  • Deputy Director of Center
  • Deputy Director of Department
  • Deputy Director of National Reference Center
  • Deputy Head of Facility
  • Director of Center
  • Director of Department
  • Director of Institute
  • Director of National Reference Center
  • Group Leader
  • Head of Facility
  • Head of Operations
  • Head of Structure
  • Honorary President of the Departement
  • Labex Coordinator
Search
Go back
Scroll to top
Share
© Research
Scientific Fields
Diseases
Organisms
Applications
Technique

About

My research activities are oriented towards the sequencing and analysis of the human intestinal microbiota to understand its structure and function. My team uses high-throughput sequencing (HTS) and bioinformatics tools, including machine learning techniques, to study the role of the microbiota in human health and disease. We are particularly interested in the colonization and development of the microbiota in newborns and infants, and our projects include the transmission of healthy and/or potentially pathogenic organisms from mother to infant. We also study how antibiotic treatments alter the microbiota as well as how crosstalk with the environment can affect microbiota diversity and function.  We are always open to collaborations in exciting projects.

I received my doctorate in microbiology from the University of Massachusetts studying the sequence and genetic structure and evolution of halophilic Archaea. My postdoctoral research concerned the biochemistry of transcription initiation and non-natural amino acids and was undertaken at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). In 2005 I accepted an exciting opportunity at the CNRS in France combining classical genetics, high-throughput screening, and bioinformatics to investigate the link between cell division and chromosome replication. 

In 2008 I obtained a permanent position at INRA to establish an NGS sequencing group, MetaQuant, studying the intestinal microbiota. In seven years I participated in or led work packages for the European projects MetaHIT (obesity, IBS, Crohn’s Disease), EvoTAR (antibiotic resistance in hospitals) and MetaCardis (cardiovascular disease and diabetes). Work on these projects with partners at the EMBL and BGI resulted in several high-impact publications on intestinal health and dysbiosis link with a disease as well as methods describing the organization and analysis of high-dimensional datasets. My team was a primary founder in 2012 of the MetaGenoPolis Unit at INRA, financed by the French government’s “Investissements d’Avenir”. By 2015 the unit housed the latest HTS technology as a suite of robotic solutions to fully integrate DNA quantification library production. Over 100 projects with both public and private entities were processed during this period.

I was recruited to Institut Pasteur in 2015 as Director of the Biomics Unit at the Pasteur Institute in Paris, to head HTS services and develope metagenomic analysis on campus and within the Pasteur International Network.  Over the span of three years, I initiated the introduction of long-read technology (PacBio / Nanopore), obtained ISO 9001 certification of DNA/RNA services and developed an active metagenomics research activity with several financed projects. 

Since 2018 I became affiliated with the Department of Computational Biology (USR 3756 CNRS) and have set up a team to focus on microbiota research and analysis tools. Our current projects center on machine learning and functional prediction to investigate the role that the microbiota plays in health and well-being. Of particular interest is how mother-infant intestinal colonization occurs and how this transmission impacts the maturation of the immune system and contributes to health and disease later in life.

Projects

Software

Publications

Download

Tapez votre recherche ici
  • Équipes
  • Membres
  • Projets
  • Événements
  • Appels
  • Emplois
  • publications
  • Logiciel
  • Outils
  • Réseau
  • Équipement

Un petit guide pour l'utilisation de la recherche avancée :

  • Tip 1. Utilisez "" afin de chercher une expression exacte.
    Exemple : "division cellulaire"
  • Tip 2. Utilisez + afin de rendre obligatoire la présence d'un mot.
    Exemple : +cellule +stem
  • Tip 3. Utilisez + et - afin de forcer une inclusion ou exclusion d'un mot.
    Exemple : +cellule -stem
e.g. searching for members in projects tagged cancer
Rechercher
Compteur
IN
OUT
Contenu 1
  • member
  • team
  • department
  • center
  • program_project
  • nrc
  • whocc
  • project
  • software
  • tool
  • patent
  • Personnel Administratif
  • Chargé(e) de Recherche Expert
  • Directeur(trice) de Recherche
  • Assistant(e) de Recherche Clinique
  • Professeur(e)
  • Etudiant(e) M2
  • Aide technique
  • Chercheur(euse) Contractuel(le)
  • Chercheur(euse) Permanent(e)
  • Pharmacien(ne)
  • Etudiant(e) en thèse
  • Médecin
  • Post-doctorant(e)
  • Chef(fe) de Projet
  • Chargé(e) de Recherche
  • Ingénieur(e) de Recherche
  • Chercheur(euse) Retraité(e)
  • Technicien(ne)
  • Etudiant(e)
  • Vétérinaire
  • Visiteur(euse) Scientifique
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Centre
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Départment
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Centre National de Référence
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Plateforme
  • Directeur(trice) de Centre
  • Directeur(trice) de Départment
  • Directeur(trice) d'Institut
  • Directeur(trice) de Centre National de Référence
  • Chef(fe) de Groupe
  • Responsable de Plateforme
  • Responsable opérationnel et administratif
  • Responsable de Structure
  • Président(e) d'honneur de Département
  • Coordinateur(trice) du Labex
Contenu 2
  • member
  • team
  • department
  • center
  • program_project
  • nrc
  • whocc
  • project
  • software
  • tool
  • patent
  • Personnel Administratif
  • Chargé(e) de Recherche Expert
  • Directeur(trice) de Recherche
  • Assistant(e) de Recherche Clinique
  • Professeur(e)
  • Etudiant(e) M2
  • Aide technique
  • Chercheur(euse) Contractuel(le)
  • Chercheur(euse) Permanent(e)
  • Pharmacien(ne)
  • Etudiant(e) en thèse
  • Médecin
  • Post-doctorant(e)
  • Chef(fe) de Projet
  • Chargé(e) de Recherche
  • Ingénieur(e) de Recherche
  • Chercheur(euse) Retraité(e)
  • Technicien(ne)
  • Etudiant(e)
  • Vétérinaire
  • Visiteur(euse) Scientifique
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Centre
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Départment
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Centre National de Référence
  • Directeur(trice) Adjoint(e) de Plateforme
  • Directeur(trice) de Centre
  • Directeur(trice) de Départment
  • Directeur(trice) d'Institut
  • Directeur(trice) de Centre National de Référence
  • Chef(fe) de Groupe
  • Responsable de Plateforme
  • Responsable opérationnel et administratif
  • Responsable de Structure
  • Président(e) d'honneur de Département
  • Coordinateur(trice) du Labex
Recherche
Revenir
Haut de page
Partagez
© Recherche
Membre: Chercheur(euse) Permanent(e)

Sean Kennedy

Domaines Scientifiques
Maladies
Organismes
Applications
Technique

Présentation

Mes activités de recherche sont orientées vers le séquençage et l’analyse du microbiote intestinal humain pour comprendre sa structure et sa fonction. Mon équipe utilise le séquençage à haut débit (HTS) et des outils bioinformatiques, y compris des techniques ‘machie learning’, pour étudier le rôle du microbiote dans la santé et les maladies humaines. Nous nous intéressons particulièrement à la colonisation et au développement du microbiote chez les nouveau-nés et les nourrissons, et nos projets incluent la transmission d’organismes sains et/ou potentiellement pathogènes de la mère au nourrisson. Nous étudions également comment les traitements antibiotiques modifient le microbiote ainsi que la façon dont l’interaction avec l’environnement peut affecter la diversité et le fonctionnement du microbiote.  Nous sommes toujours ouverts à des collaborations dans de projets passionnants.

J’ai obtenu mon doctorat en microbiologie à l’Université du Massachusetts en étudiant le génome, la structure génétique et l’évolution des Archaea halophiles. Mes recherches postdoctorales ont porté sur la biochimie de l’initiation de la transcription et des acides aminés non-naturels au Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). En 2005, j’ai accepté une opportunité au CNRS en France, combinant la génétique classique, le criblage à haut débit et la bioinformatique pour étudier le lien entre la division cellulaire et la réplication des chromosomes. 

En 2008, j’ai obtenu un poste permanent à l’INRA pour établir un groupe de séquençage NGS, MetaQuant, afin d’étudier le microbiote intestinal. En sept ans, j’ai dirigé plusieurs WPs de projets européens MetaHIT (obésité, IBS, maladie de Crohn), EvoTAR (résistance aux antibiotiques dans les hôpitaux) et MetaCardis (maladies cardiovasculaires et diabète). Le travail sur ces projets, avec des partenaires de l’EMBL et de la BGI a abouti à plusieurs publications à haut-impact sur la santé intestinale et le lien entre la dysbiose et une maladie ainsi que sur des méthodes décrivant l’organisation et l’analyse d’ensembles de données de grande dimension. Mon équipe a été l’un des principaux fondateurs en 2012 de l’unité MetaGenoPolis à l’INRA, financée par les “Investissements d’Avenir” du gouvernement français. En 2015, l’unité abritait la dernière technologie HTS sous la forme d’une suite de solutions robotiques permettant d’intégrer pleinement la production de bibliothèques de quantification de l’ADN. Plus de 100 projets avec des entités publiques et privées ont été traités pendant cette période.

J’ai été recruté à l’Institut Pasteur en 2015 en tant que directeur du pôle Biomicsde l’Institut Pasteur à Paris, pour diriger les services HTS et développer l’analyse métagénomique sur le campus et au sein du réseau international de l’Institut Pasteur.  En l’espace de trois ans, j’ai initié l’introduction de la technologie “long reads” (PacBio / Nanopore), obtenu la certification ISO 9001 des services ADN/ARN et développé une activité de recherche active en métagénomique avec plusieurs projets financés. 

Depuis 2018, je me suis affilié au département de biologie computationnelle (USR 3756 CNRS) et j’ai mis en place une petite équipe qui se concentre sur la recherche sur les microbiotes et les outils d’analyse. Nos projets actuels se concentrent sur “machine learning” et la prédiction fonctionnelle pour étudier le rôle que le microbiote joue dans la santé et le bien-être. Il est particulièrement intéressant d’étudier comment la colonisation intestinale se produit de la mère à l’enfant et comment cette transmission affecte la maturation du système immunitaire et contribue à la santé et à la maladie plus tard dans la vie.

Projets

Logiciel

Publications

Télécharger