© Tessa Quax, David Prangishvili, Gerard Pehau-Arnaudet, Jean-Marc Panaud
VAPs (virus-associated pyramids) formed by the Sulfolobus islandicus rod-shaped virus 2 (SIRV2) in cells of its hyperthermophilic archaeal host. Negative contrast electron micrography.

Molecular Biology of Gene in Extremophiles


The living world is presently divided into three cellular lineages: the Bacteria, the Archaea and the Eucarya. We are interested in the events and mechanisms that lead to the establishment of these three lineages and in the role that viruses have played in that history.

The main research axis of our unit focuses on studying viruses of hyperthermophilic Archea. These viruses are much more diverse than those infecting bacteria and their virions display unique morphotypes, opening new questions on the origin of viruses and their relationships with cellular organisms. We are studying at the molecular level DNA replication and transcription for several viruses as well as their interactions with their hosts. We are also exploring these highly stable viruses for their potential application in nanotechnologies.

Beside these experimental studies, we are studying several fundamental questions related to microbial evolution using /in silico/ methods through approaches of microbial phylogenomics. We are particularly interested in the phylogeny of microorganisms, and in the emergence and evolution of various key cellular structures and processes, with a focus on the evolutionary links among the three domains of life.

Our interest for viruses infecting microbes leaded us to develop a new project focusing on the study of interactions between bacteriophages and bacteria in animals. Several new viruses infecting bacterial pathogens have been isolated. Their in vivo characterization using two animal models revealed the therapeutic potential of these bacteriophages.








25-28 Rue du Docteur Roux
75015, Paris

© Tessa Quax, David Prangishvili, Gerard Pehau-Arnaudet, Jean-Marc Panaud
VAPs (virus-associated pyramids) formed by the Sulfolobus islandicus rod-shaped virus 2 (SIRV2) in cells of its hyperthermophilic archaeal host. Negative contrast electron micrography.
Laboratoire

Biologie Moléculaire du Gène Chez les Extrêmophiles

Recherche

La division du monde vivant en trois grandes lignées cellulaires, les Archaea, les Bactéries et les Eucaryotes, a ouvert une nouvelle voie dans l’exploration du monde des microbes et l’étude de l’évolution de celui-ci dans laquelle les virus tiennent une place prépondérante.

L’axe principal de recherches de notre unité concerne l’étude des virus des Archaea hyperthermophiles. Ces virus sont très divers et leurs virions présentent des morphotypes uniques, ouvrant de nouvelles interrogations sur l’origine des virus et leurs relations avec les organismes cellulaires. Nous étudions au niveau moléculaire la réplication et la transcription de l’ADN de plusieurs virus modèles ainsi que leurs relations avec leurs hôtes.

Un deuxième axe de recherche s’intéresse à l’exploration de la biodiversité du monde microbien au niveau du Tree of Life (Archaea, Bacteria, Eucarya) en utilisant la Phylogenomique Microbienne. Nous étudions les relations évolutives à grande échelle entre organismes, ce qui nous permet de mettre en évidence des nouvelles lignées microbiennes, étudier l’origine et l’histoire évolutive de processus cellulaires clef, et investiguer des transitions majeures dans l’histoire de la Vie sur notre planète.

Un troisième axe de recherche est centré sur l’étude des interactions entre bactériophages et bactéries chez l’animal. Deux axes de recherche permettent d’étudier l’utilisation des bactériophages pour traiter des infections bactériennes résistantes aux antibiotiques (phagothérapie) mais aussi d’appréhender le rôle des bactériophages virulents dans les écosystèmes microbiens chez les animaux.

Membres

Projets

Publications

Contact

Phone:
Email:

Address
25-28 Rue du Docteur Roux
75015, Paris
France