© Charles Dauguet
Poliovirus. Entérovirus de la famille des Picornaviridae, trois sérotypes connus. Agent de la poliomyélite, l'homme est le seul hôte naturel.

Biology of Enteric Viruses


The genetic plasticity of viruses with RNA genomes results from high mutation rates and genetic recombination, facilitating the emergence of new epidemic viral strains. We study genetic and biological aspects of these viruses from fundamental and public-health standpoints, focusing on enteroviruses.


Human enteroviruses belong to the Picornaviridae family, a large group of human and animal pathogens. They mostly cause asymptomatic intestinal infections, but they can also cause acute damage to the central nervous system leading to meningitis, encephalitis, or even flaccid paralysis, which is mostly due to infections with poliovirus (poliomyelitis) and enterovirus A71 (EV-A71).

In 1988, the WHO established a poliomyelitis eradication program based on massive vaccination campaigns with oral polio vaccine (OPV). This vaccine consists of live attenuated strains that multiply to high titers in the intestine. There is also an inactivated virus vaccine. Following this campaign, a marked decrease in the frequency of poliomyelitis (99%) due to wild-type viruses was observed worldwide. However, the disease has not yet been eradicated, due to low vaccine coverage in some areas. This low vaccine coverage is also thought to allow the emergence of pathogenic, circulating vaccine-derived polioviruses (cVDPVs). These cVDPVs have recently caused iatrogenic epidemics of paralytic poliomyelitis in several regions of the world, including Madagascar, and are subject to the same meticulous surveillance as wild poliovuruses. Most cVDPVs are recombinants between poliovirus and other non-poliovirus enteroviruses, such as coxsackie A viruses (CAV) in particular.

In parallel with the campaign to eradicate polioviruses, there has been an increase in the prevalence of other neurotropic enteroviruses, such as EV-A71. EV-A71 causes major outbreaks of hand, foot and mouth disease (a mild maculopapular syndrome) but also neurological manifestation similar to those associated with polioviruses. The largest outbreaks of EV-A71 have been seen in the Asia-Pacific region. There is currently no vaccine or treatment against EV-A71.

The research of our unit is based on studies of the mechanisms of genetic plasticity, including genetic recombination between HEVs, and the impact of genetic exchanges on viral biodiversity, emergence and pathogenicity.



  • logo_inserm
  • institut-pasteur-c
  • research.pasteur.fr_logo_400x4001-300x300
  • logo_diderot_carr
  • logo_fondation_fr_1_0
  • 20140311094402-logo_european_commission



Phone: 33 (0) 1 4438 9130
Email: catherine.tran@pasteur.fr

25-28 Rue du Docteur Roux
75015, Paris

© Charles Dauguet
Poliovirus. Entérovirus de la famille des Picornaviridae, trois sérotypes connus. Agent de la poliomyélite, l'homme est le seul hôte naturel.
Laboratoire

Biologie des virus entériques

Responsable

Francis Delpeyroux

Présentation

 « La plasticité génétique des virus à génome ARN, due à une fréquence élevée de mutations et à des recombinaisons génétiques, entraine l’émergence de souches virales épidémiques nouvelles. Nous étudions d’un point de vu fondamental et de santé publique ces aspects génétique et biologique des virus à ARN en nous focalisant sur le groupe des Enterovirus. »

Les entérovirus humains appartiennent à la famille des Picornaviridae, l’un des plus importants groupes de pathogènes. Bien que principalement à tropisme intestinal asymptomatique, les entérovirus sont aussi la cause d’atteintes aiguës du système nerveux central. Ces atteintes potentiellement sévères se manifestent sous la forme de méningites, d’encéphalites, ou encore de paralysies flasques principalement dues aux poliovirus (poliomyélite) et à des entérovirus émergent tel que l’entérovirus A71 (EV-A71).

En 1988, l’OMS a lancé un programme d’éradication de la poliomyélite, basé sur des campagnes de vaccination massives, qui a permis de réduire de plus de 99% l’incidence de la poliomyélite due aux souches de poliovirus sauvages. Cependant, à cause d’une faible couverture vaccinale dans certaines régions, la maladie n’a pas été complètement éradiquée. Cette couverture vaccinale imparfaite est aussi responsable de la circulation et de l’émergence de souches pathogènes de poliovirus dérivées du vaccin (PVDV). Ces PVDV circulants (PVDVc) ont récemment causé des épidémies iatrogènes de poliomyélite paralytique dans de nombreuses régions du monde, dont Madagascar et doivent faire l’objet d’une surveillance particulière stricte. La plupart de ces PVDVc sont des recombinants entre le poliovirus et d’autres entérovirus non polio, en particulier des coxsackievirus A (CVA).

Parallèlement à l’éradication en cours des poliovirus sauvages, d’autres entérovirus hautement neurotropiques tel l’EV-A71 émergent. l’EV-A71 est principalement associé à de large épidémie en Asie-Pacifique de syndromes pied main bouche (infection cutanée bégnine) pouvant dans de nombreux cas s’aggraver par des atteintes cérébrales sévères potentiellement fatales, pour lesquelles il n’existe ni vaccins et ni traitements.

Le projet de recherche de notre unité consiste à mieux comprendre les mécanismes de plasticité génétique associés aux transferts génétiques entre entérovius et l’impact de ces échanges génétiques sur la biodiversité, l’émergence et la pathogénicité de ces virus.

 

Projets

Financements

  • logo_inserm
  • institut-pasteur-black-blue
  • research.pasteur.fr_logo_400x4001-300x300
  • logo_diderot_carr
  • logo_fondation_fr_1_0
  • 20140311094402-logo_european_commission

Publications

Contact

Phone: 33 (0) 1 4438 9130
Email: catherine.tran@pasteur.fr

Address
25-28 Rue du Docteur Roux
75015, Paris
France