About

Antibiotics are highly efficient drugs to kill pathogenic bacteria with low side effects. For more than 70 years, the massive use of these miracle drugs has saved millions of human and animal lives. Unfortunately new resistance arises rapidly following the use of new antibiotics, leading to the emergence of multidrug resistant (MDR) bugs, treatment escape and treatment failure. Outbreaks of MDR strains are particularly feared in the hospital environment, due to the presence of suitable conditions for their propagation close to high-risk patients. In these settings, controlling the spread of MDR strains requires specific and costly confinement measures. Today, MDR bacteria are a worldwide public health threat with a high risk of relapse or reinfection, increased mortality and tremendous costs.

Defeating AMR and preventing a global pandemic requires multidisciplinary efforts to better understand resistance emergence, persistence and dissemination. It is also a priority to further decipher the complex mode of action of antibiotics to improve their use in human and animal medicine and to develop new antibiotics and therapeutic options.

This research program brings together more than 40 multidisciplinary teams from the Institut Pasteur International Network. They are tackling the issue of antibiotic resistance according to seven major research axes:

  • Epidemiology – Global health and mathematical modelling of the spread of antibiotic resistance
  • Genomics of antibiotic resistance and the horizontal transmission of genetic determinants
  • In vitro and in vivo mechanisms of resistance
  • The discovery of new targets and the characterization of drug targets
  • Drug screening – and the discovery of new antibiotics
  • Identification of “natural” compounds against MDR bacteria
  • Alternative strategies to antibiotics

Save the date: Together with the LabEx IBEID, we are organizing an international conference entitled “Challenges and new concepts in antibiotics research” at the Institut Pasteur in Paris on March 19-21 2018. Please visit the website of the conference for further information: http://www.amr-2018.org/

Teams

Associated Centers

Partners

Cliquez pour voir le graph
Connexions

Présentation

Les antibiotiques éliminent de manière efficace les bactéries pathogènes avec le plus souvent peu d’effets indésirables. Ces médicaments “miracles” ont eu depuis plus de 70 ans un impact majeur pour améliorer la santé humaine et animale en sauvant des millions de vies. Malheureusement de nouvelles résistances apparaissent rapidement après la mise sur le marché d’un nouvel antibiotique entrainant la sélection de souches multirésistantes et l’échappement au traitement. Les épidémies dues à des bactéries multirésistantes sont craintes à l’hôpital où elles nécessitent des mesures spécifiques coûteuses. Aujourd’hui ces bactéries multirésistantes sont une menace de santé publique globale avec le risque de réémergence d’infections incurables, une augmentation de la mortalité et des surcoûts considérables.

Combattre la résistance aux antibiotiques et prévenir une crise sanitaire nécessite une recherche multidisciplinaire pour mieux comprendre les résistances et leur dissémination. C’est également une priorité pour caractériser les mécanismes complexes du mode d’action des antibiotiques afin d’optimiser leur utilisation en santé humaine et animale; et pour développer de nouvelles molécules et des stratégies thérapeutiques alternatives.

Ce programme de recherche rassemble plus de 40 équipes multidisciplinaires du réseau international des Institut Pasteur. Ces projets de lutte contre la résistance sont organisés autour de sept axes principaux de recherche.

  • Epidémiologie – santé mondiale et modélisation mathématique de la dissémination de la résistance aux antibiotiques
  • Génomique de la résistance aux antibiotiques et transmission horizontale des déterminants génétiques
  • Mécanismes in vitro et in vivo de résistance
  • Découverte de nouvelles cibles et caractérisation des cibles des antibiotiques
  • Screening de collections de molécules et découverte de nouveaux antibiotiques
  • Identification de composés naturels pour lutter contre les bactéries multirésistantes
  • Stratégies alternatives aux antibiotiques.

Équipes

Centres associés

Partenaires