About

The Center for Technological Resources and Research (C2RT) is one of the three components of the Technology and Scientific Programs Department. C2RT gathers the Technology and Service units (UTechS) and the Technology Platforms (core facilities) of the campus, which are described below.

C2RT also has a technology laboratory (TechLab) located on the first floor of the François Jacob building. The TechLab allows to host projects of technological research and to test new service activities. The TechLab works on a project basis and is accessible to Institut Pasteur teams, possibly in collaboration with external academic or industrial teams.

The Center for Technological Resources and Research is under the scientific responsibility of Christophe d’Enfert and the administrative and operational responsibility of Anna Kehres.

Contact: c2rt@pasteur.fr

A brief summary of C2RT entities:

UTechS Photonic Bioimaging
Head: Spencer Shorte, Interim manager and head of the photonic bio-imaging technology platform: Nathalie Aulner
UTechS PBI provides expertise and support in optical imaging by supplying the users with a diverse range of equipment (confocal microscopy, super-resolution microscopy, high-throughput and high-content imaging, small animal imaging…). The development activities focus on the study of host-pathogen interactions and high-content imaging.

UTechS  Ultrastructural Bioimaging
Head: Jacomina Krijnse-Locker
UTechS UBI provides expertise and support in electronic imaging, with a set of sample preparation techniques and sample visualization in transmission or scanning electron microscopy. The expertise of the UTechS particularly lies in the imaging of pathogens and host-pathogen interactions.

Image Analysis Hub
Head: Jean-Yves Tinevez
The Image analysis Hub provides an expertise in the use of commercial or Institut Pasteur-developed softwares for the analysis of images produced by using the equipment available in the UTechS PBI and UBI as well as in the research units.

UTechS Mass Spectrometry for Biology
Head: Julia Chamot-Rooke, Head of the Proteomic core facility: Mariette Matondo
UTechS MSBio offers research and service activities in the field of biological mass spectrometry and proteomics. The service activities cover a range of approaches ranging from the identification of isolated proteins to the analysis of proteomes.

UTechS Cytometry and Biomarkers
Head: Milena Hasan, Head of the  Cytometry core facility: Sophie Novault
UTechS Cytometry and Biomarkers has a wide range of equipment to achieve cellular sorting, cell phenotyping, and single cell profiling and sequencing.
UTechS cytometry and biomarkers is also attached to the Center for Translational Research

Biomics Pole
Head: Marc Monot
The Biomics pole conducts nucleic acid sequencing projects (genomes, transcriptomes, epigenomes, metagenomes and metatranscriptomes) using next-generation sequencers (Illumina, PacBio, Miniion). It also has a specific equipment for the genotyping of eukaryotic genomes (man, mouse).

Antibody Engineering Core Facility
Head : Pierre Lafaye
The Antibody Engineering core facility is specialized in the identification and production of homodimeric antibodies of camelids (VHH).

Production of Recombinant Proteins Core Facility
Eukaryotic systems Manager: Stéphane Pêtres, Prokaryotic systems Manager: Jacques Bellalou.
The Production of Recombinant Proteins core facility offers services in the field of the production and purification of recombinant proteins in eukaryotic systems (mammal or insect) or prokaryotes (bacteria or yeast).
Web Sites: https://research.pasteur.fr/en/team/recombinant-proteins-in-eukaryotic-cells/ and https://research.pasteur.fr/en/team/recombinant-proteins-in-prokaryotic-cells

Molecular Biophysics Core Facility
Head: Patrick England.
The Molecular Biophysics core facility offers a set of equipment and technical and methodological expertise for the molecular-scale characterization of biological macromolecules. 

Crystallography Core Facility
Head: Ahmed Haouz
The crystallography core facility offers the expertise and the technological environment enabling robotic crystal growth, X-ray diffraction and the analysis of the resulting data.

NMR in biology Core Facility
Head: Inaki Guijarro
The NMR in biology core facility has several NMR spectrometers for the study of Biological macromolecules, their dynamics and atomic-scale interactions. The core facility also offers an expertise in HDX mass spectrometry.

Chemogenomic and Biological Screening Core Facility
Head: Fabrice Agou
The Chemogenomic and Biological Screening core facility supports the  scientists from the development of targeted or phenotypic screens, to the automation and miniaturization of these screens and the identification of molecules or genetic modulators of interest.

Biomaterials and Microfluidics Core Facility
Head: Samy Gobaa
The Biomaterials and Microfluidics core facility  provides the necessary equipment and expertise in the fields of micro-manufacturing, photo-and soft-lithography, multi-parameter cell screening and automated live cell imaging. It also provides expertise in 3D cell culture and organ-on-chip.

Teams

Présentation

Le Centre de Ressources et Recherches Technologiques (C2RT) est une des trois composantes de la Direction de la Technologie et des Programmes Scientifiques. Le C2RT rassemble les Unités de Technologie et de Service (UTechS) et Plate-Formes Technologiques (PFT) du campus, qui sont décrites ci-dessous.

Le C2RT dispose aussi d’un laboratoire technologique (TechLab) situé au premier étage du bâtiment François Jacob. Le TechLab permet d’accueillir des projets de rechecrhe technologique et de tester de nouvelles activités de service. Le TechLab fonctionne sur projets et est accessible aux équipes pasteuriennes, éventuellement en collaboration avec des équipes externes académiques ou industrielles.

Contact : c2rt@pasteur.fr

Les composantes du C2RT:

UTechS Bioimagerie Photonique
Responsable : Spencer Shorte, Responsable par interim et responsable de la Plate-forme Technologique Bioimagerie Photonique: Nathalie Aulner
L’UTechS PBI procure une expertise et un support en imagerie optique en mettant à disposition des utilisateurs un parc varié d’équipements (microscopie confocale, microscopie super-résolutive, imagerie à haut-débit et haut-contenu, imagerie du petit animal…). Les activités de développement se focalisent sur l’étude des interactions hôte-pathogène et l’imagerie à haut-contenu.

UTechS Bioimagerie Utltrastructurale
Responsable : Jacomine Krinjse-Locker
L’UTechS UBI procure une expertise et un support en imagerie électronique, avec un ensemble de techniques de préparation des échantillons et de visualisation en microscopie électronique à transmission ou balayage. L’expertise de l’UTEchS est particulièrement dans l’imagerie des pathogènes et des interactions hôte-pathogène.

Hub Analyses d’Image
Responsable : Jean-Yves Tinevez
Le Hub Analyses d’Image fournit une expertise dans l’utilisation de logiciels commerciaux ou développés à l’Institut Pasteur (solution Icy) pour l’analyse d’images produites en utilsant les équipements disponibles dans les UTechS PBI et UBI ainsi que dans les unités de recherche.
Site web :

UTechS Spectrométrie de Masse en Biologie
Responsable : Julia Chamot-Rooke ; Responsable de la Plate-forme Technologique Protéomique : Mariette Matondo
L’UTechS MSBio propose des activités de recherche et de service dans le domaine de la spectrométrie de masse biologique et de la protéomique. Les activités de service couvrent un ensemble d’approches allant de l’identification de protéines isolées à l’analyse de protéomes.

UTechS Cytométrie et Biomarqueurs
Responsable : Milena Hasan ; Responsable de la Plate-forme Technologique Cytométrie : Sophie Novault
L’UTechS Cytométrie et Biomarqueurs dispose d’une panoplie variée d’équipements permettant de réaliser des tris cellulaires, du phénotypage cellulaire, et du profilage et séquençage cellule unique.
L’UTechS Cytométrie et Biomarqueurs est aussi rattachée au Centre de Recherches Translationnelles.

Pôle Biomics
Responsable : Marc Monot
Le Pôle Biomics réalise des projets de séquençage des acides nucléiques (génomes, transcriptomes, épigénomes, métagénomes et métatranscriptomes) à l’aide de séquenceurs de nouvelle génération (Illumina, PacBio, miniIon). Il dispose aussi d’un équipement permettant le génotypage de génomes eucaryotes (homme, souris).

PFT Ingénierie des Anticorps (IA)
Responsable : Pierre Lafaye
La PFT Ingénierie des Anticorps est spécialisée dans l’identification et la production des anticorps homodimériques de camélidés (VHH).

PFT Production et Purification de Protéines Recombinantes
Responsable : Stéphane Pêtres
La PFT Production et Purification de Protéines Recombinantes propose des services dans le domaine de la production et de la purification de protéines recombinantes en systèmes eucaryotes (mammifère ou insecte) ou procaryotes (bactérie ou levure).

PFT Biophysique Moléculaire
Responsable : Patrick England
La PFT Biophysique Moléculaire propose un ensemble d’équipements et une expertise technique et méthodologique pour la caractérisation à l’échelle moléculaire de macromolécules biologiques.

PFT Cristallographie
Responsable : Ahmed Haouz
La PFT Cristallographie propose l’expertise et l’environnement technologique permettant la cristallogenèse robotisée, la diffraction aux rayons X et l’analyse des données en résultant.

PFT RMN en biologie
Responsable : Inaki Guijarro
La PFT RMN en biologie dispose de plusieurs spectromètres de RMN permettant l’étude des macromolécules biologiques, de leur dynamique et des interactions à l’échelle atomique.  La PFT propose aussi une expertise en spectométrie de masse HDX.

PFT Criblage Chémogénomique et Biologique
Responsable : Fabrice Agou
La PFT Criblage Chémogénomique et Biologique accompagne les scientifiques depuis le développement de cribles ciblés ou phénotypiques, jusqu’à l’automatisation et la miniaturisation de ces cribles et l’identification de molécules ou de modulateurs génétiques de processus d’intérêt.

PFT Biomatériaux et Microfluidique
Responsable : Samy Gobaa
La PFT Biomatériaux et Microfluidique procure les équipements et l’expertise nécessaires dans les domaines de la microfabrication, de la photo- et soft-lithographie, du criblage cellulaire multi-paramètres et dans l’imagerie automatisée des cellules vivantes. Elle fournit aussi une expertise dans la culture cellulaire 3D et les organs-sur-puce.

Équipes