About

The Center for Animal Resources and Research (C2RA) is one of the three components of the Technology and Scientific Programs Department. The C2RA meets the needs in animal models of Institut Pasteur  research groups and gathers the Central Animal Facility , the Center for Mouse Genetics Engineering (CIGM) and the Center for Production and Infection of Anopheles (CEPIA).

Additional resources for animal models, independent of the C2RA, are also available including the Zebrafish Projects Hub (see below).

The Center for Animal Resources and Research is under the scientific responsibility of Christophe d’Enfert and the administrative and operational responsibility of Anna Kehres.

Contact: c2ra@pasteur.fr

Central Animal Facility
Head: Christophe Joubert
The Central Animal Facility provides the research teams with the necessary infrastructure to use animal models in the best ethical and regulatory conditions. 15.000 cages for rodents are available with different confining levels. The use of germ-free, gnotobiotic or pathogen-free mice is possible as well as the maintenance and preservation of transgenic lines. Small animal imaging tools are available.

Centre for Murine Engineering and Genetics
Head: Francina Langa-Vives
The Center forMouse Genetics Engineering (CIGM) is Institut Pasteur’s core facility for animal transgenesis. CIGM produces new genetically modified murine models by random insertion, targeted replacement, and more recently by microinjection of specific nucleases (ZFN, TALE, and CRISPR/Cas9) upon  request of the research units.

Center for the Production and Infection of Anopheles
Head: Patricia Baldacci
The Center for the Production and Infection of Anopheles (CEPIA) is a core facility dedicated to the mass production of mosquitoes of the Anopheles species. CEPIA allows the study of the interactions between Plasmodium, the malaria-causing parasite, and their mammalian or mosquito hosts.

The Zebrafish Projects Hub 
Contact: Laure Bally-Cuif, Jean-Pierre Levraud, Emma Colucci
The Zebrafish Projects Hub (Zorgl’hub) aims to provide Institut Pasteur research groups with the possibility to conduct short term zebrafish trial projects,
– as a functional complement to existing projects using other models/cells
– to obtain proof of principle evidence to support grant applications.

Présentation

Le Centre de Ressources et Recherches Animales (C2RA) est une des trois composantes de la Direction de la Technologie et des Programmes Scientifiques. Le C2RA répond aux besoins en modèles animaux des structures de recherche. Il regroupe l’Animalerie Centrale, le Centre d’Ingénierie Génétique Murine (CIGM) et le Centre de Production et d’Infection des Anophèles (CEPIA).

D’autres structures permettant d’utiliser des modèles animaux sont disponibles telles que le Zebrafish Projects Hub. 

Le Centre de Ressources et Recherches Animales est placé sous la responsabilité scientifique de Christophe d’Enfert et la responsabilité administrative et opérationnelle de Anna Kehres.

Contact : c2ra@pasteur.fr

 

Animalerie Centrale
Responsable : Christophe Joubert
L’Animalerie Centrale offre aux équipes de recherche l’infrastructure nécessaire à l’utilisation de modèles animaux dans les meilleures conditions éthiques et réglementaires. 15,000 cages pour rongeurs sont disponibles avec différents niveaux de confinements. L’utilisation de souris germ-free, gnotobiotiques ou pathogen-free est possible de même que l’entretien et la conservation de lignées transgéniques. Des outils d’imagerie du petit animal sont disponibles.

Centre d’Ingénierie Génétique Murine
Responsable : Francina Langa-Vives
Le Centre d’Ingénierie Génétique Murine est la plate-forme de transgénèse animale de l’Institut Pasteur. Le CIGM produit à la demande des unités de recherche de nouveaux  modèles murins génétiquement modifiés par insertion aléatoire, remplacement ciblé et, plus récemment, par microinjection de nucléases spécifiques (ZFN, TALE et CRISPR/Cas9).

Centre de Production et d’Infection des Anophèles
Responsable : Patricia Baldacci
Le Centre de Production et d’Infection des Anophèles (CEPIA) est une plate-forme dédiée à la production en masse de moustiques du genre Anopheles pour la recherche. Le CEPIA permet l’étude des interactions entre Plasmodium, parasite responsable du paludisme, et leurs hôtes mammifère ou moustique.

Le Zebrafish Projects Hub 
Contact: Laure Bally-Cuif, Jean-Pierre Levraud, Emma Colucci
Le Zebrafish Projects Hub (Zorgl’hub) permet aux équipes de l’Institut Pasteur de réaliser des projets pilotes utilisant le poisson zébré:
– en complément de projets en cours utilisant des modèles cellulaires ou d’autres modèles animaux
– en vue d’obtenir des résultats préliminaires pour de futures demandes de crédits.